Historic Technical Innovation (Derryck Draper) Awards

The OWPG (and previously the OWG) has a long history of rewarding technical innovation in the outdoors equipment industry.

Since 2022, the award is called the OWPG Technical Innovation Award.

Between 2006 and 2022 it was named the OWPG Derryck Draper Award in 2005, in memory of its founder member and past Chairman. It remains an award for technical innovation in outdoors equipment and materials.

Between 1999 and 2005 the award was called the OWG Crystal Award and was presented for innovation in the outdoors generally.

Between 1982 and 1998 the fore-runner to this award was the OWG Golden Boot Award. The Golden Boot was presented annually to a person or company exhibiting at the COLA Show in Harrogate who had been voted by the Guild to have made an outstanding contribution to the outdoors.

This award is not awarded every year. If it has been awarded in the current year, the current holder is listed on our main awards page, past winners are listed below.

Derryck Draper Award past recipients:

2022: Garmin inReach mini2
2021: Primaloft
2020: Not awarded
2019: Not awarded
2018: Not awarded
2017: Outdoor Design Logistics X-tex breathable fabric for single skin tents
2016: Pertex CS10 Technology fabric
2015: Osprey’s suspended AntiGravity™ backsystem
2014: PrimaLoft Down Blend insulation
2013: Brunton Hydrogen Reactor
2012: Biolite Campstove
2011: Neoshell Fabric by Polartec
2010: Laser Photon tent by Terranova
2009: Therm-a-Rest NeoAir mattress by Cascade Designs
2008: Teko socks
2007: Satmap Active 10 GPS system
2006: Steripen

OWG Crystal Award

2005: Not awarded
2004: Lyon Equipment
2003: Not awarded
2002: GoLite
2001: Nextec (Encapsulated Fabrics)
2000: Brasher Boot Company
1999: Perseverance Mills (Pertex)

OWG Golden Boot Award

1998: Not awarded
1997: Bill Wilkins
1996: Nick Brown (Paramo)
1995: Harvey Maps
1994: Ben Lyon
1993: Gordon Davison/Peter Lockey
1992: Gordon Conyers
1991: Mike Parsons (Karrimor)
1990: Chris Brasher (Brasher Boot Company)
1989: Captain Harrison
1988: Nick Brown (Nikwax)
1987: Conway Trailers Ltd
1986: Buffalo
1985: Robert Saunders
1984: Carrington Performance Fabrics
1983: Berghaus
1982: Phoenix Mountaineering