Each year the OWPG presents its Golden Eagle Award for distinguished service to the outdoors; and its Derryck Draper Award for technical innovation. This year’s award winners are listed here.

The Golden Eagle Award

The Golden Eagle Award, an original watercolour painting by Guild member David Bellamy, is presented to a person who has rendered distinguished or meritorious service to the outdoors.

2018: Chris Packham
2017: Richard Fox
2015–16: no award
2014: John Grimshaw
2013: no award
2012: Dr Adam Watson
2011: Bill Bryson
2010: Jonathan & Lesley Williams
2009: Marion Shoard
2008: Sir Chris Bonington CBE
2007: W. R. ‘Bill’ Mitchell MBE
2006: (joint winners) Kate Ashbrook; Robin and Sue Harvey
2005: Doug Scott CBE
2004: Sir David Attenborough
2003: (joint winners) Alan Blackshaw; Cedric Robinson MBE
2002: John Cleare
2001: Tom Weir
2000: Irvine Butterfield
1999: Chris Brasher CBE
1998: Alan Mattingly
1997: Dr Rennie McOwan
1996: Walt Unsworth
1995: Ken Wilson

Lifetime Achievement Award

is presented on an occasional basis to one of our own members for outstanding work in our professional field of outdoor writing, photography, or related fields.
2015: Hamish Brown MBE
2014: Kev Reynolds

OWPG Derryck Draper Award

In 2005, the OWG Crystal Award was renamed in memory of its founder member and past Chairman, Derryck Draper.

Past recipients of the award are:
2018: Garmin inReach Mini Satellite Phone/GPS
2017: Outdoor Design Logistics X-tex breathable fabric for single skin tents
2016: Pertex CS10 Technology fabric
2015: Osprey’s suspended AntiGravity™ backsystem
2014: PrimaLoft Down Blend insulation
2013: Brunton Hydrogen Reactor
2012: Biolite Campstove
2011: Neoshell Fabric by Polartec
2010: Laser Photon tent by TerraNova
2009: Therm-a-Rest NeoAir mattress by Cascade Designs
2008: Teko socks
2007: Satmap Active 10 GPS system
2006: Steripen

OWG Crystal Award
The OWG Crystal Award succeeded the Golden Boot Award, and was presented for innovation in the outdoors generally. Past recipients were:
2005: Not awarded
2004: Lyon Equipment
2003: Not awarded
2002: GoLite
2001: Nextec (Encapsulated Fabrics)
2000: Brasher Boot Company
1999: Perseverance Mills (Pertex)

OWG Golden Boot Award
The Golden Boot Award was presented annually to the person or company exhibiting at the COLA Show in Harrogate, voted by the Guild to have made an outstanding contribution to the outdoors. Past recipients were:
1998: Not awarded
1997: Bill Wilkins
1996: Nick Brown (Paramo)
1995: Harvey Maps
1994: Ben Lyon
1993: Gordon Davison/Peter Lockey
1992: Gordon Conyers
1991: Mike Parsons (Karrimor)
1990: Chris Brasher (Brasher Boot Company)
1989: Captain Harrison
1988: Nick Brown (Nikwax)
1987: Conway Trailers Ltd
1986: Buffalo
1985: Robert Saunders
1984: Carrington Performance Fabrics
1983: Berghaus
1982: Phoenix Mountaineering

Comments are closed.

©2019 Outdoor Writers and Photographers Guild  |   Email: secretary@owpg.org.uk

Designed and Built by: