Historic Golden Eagle Winners

The Golden Eagle Award, an original watercolour painting by Guild member David Bellamy, is presented to a person who has rendered distinguished or meritorious service to the outdoors.

This award is not awarded every year. If it has been awarded in the current year, the current holder is listed on our main awards page, past winners are listed below.

2022: Nick Owen (Ambleside MRT)
2021: Not awarded
2020: Not awarded
2019: Not awarded
2018: Chris Packham
2017: Richard Fox
2015–16: Not awarded
2014: John Grimshaw
2013: Not awarded
2012: Dr Adam Watson
2011: Bill Bryson
2010: Jonathan & Lesley Williams
2009: Marion Shoard
2008: Sir Chris Bonington CBE
2007: W. R. ‘Bill’ Mitchell MBE
2006: (joint winners) Kate Ashbrook; Robin and Sue Harvey
2005: Doug Scott CBE
2004: Sir David Attenborough
2003: (joint winners) Alan Blackshaw; Cedric Robinson MBE
2002: John Cleare
2001: Tom Weir
2000: Irvine Butterfield
1999: Chris Brasher CBE
1998: Alan Mattingly
1997: Dr Rennie McOwan
1996: Walt Unsworth
1995: Ken Wilson